2006 Pigskin Club Posey Award

Football stars ranging from the high school ranks to the Pro Football Hall of Fame were present at the Capitol Hilton Hotel on Friday, January 19, 2007, for the 69th Annual Awards Ceremony presented by the Pigskin Club of Washington, DC. Among the honorees were running back Rachelle Pecovsky and linebacker Ivy Tillman of the D.C. Divas, who won the Posey Award as the players of the year in women’s football in the national capital region.

Rachelle Pecovsky finished her sixth season overall in women’s football but just her first with the Divas. She made an immediate impact in D.C., setting a regular season franchise record with 1,087 rushing yards in eight games. Pecovsky capped her remarkable year by rushing for 186 yards in the Divas’ victory over the Oklahoma City Lightning in the NWFA national championship game, and along the way, she was named the offensive MVP of the national championship game.

Ivy Tillman completed her sixth season in a Divas uniform. She led the Divas in tackles and helped the team set a women’s football record by shutting out eight consecutive opponents during the year. Tillman was the defensive MVP of the national championship game, after leading the team with nine tackles and forcing a fumble in the win over Oklahoma City.

The D.C. Divas franchise was also given a special recognition award by the Pigskin Club for bringing a championship back to the Washington, DC, area. Owner Paul Hamlin, head coach Ezra Cooper, and general manager Rich Daniel were on hand to accept the award from Pigskin Club President William Chesley.