2008 Pigskin Club Posey Award

With Washington, D.C., besieged by visitors for the inauguration of President Barack Obama, hundreds of guests continued their momentous inaugural week by attending the Pigskin Club of Washington’s annual awards ceremony, which was held just a few blocks from the White House. D.C. Divas defensive lineman Trigger McNair was recognized with the 2008 Posey Award, given annually to the top women’s football player in the national capital region.

McNair, a ten-year veteran of women’s football, led the Divas in sacks in 2008. She accepted the award at the Pigskin Club banquet, where Washington Redskins quarterback Jason Campbell and Super Bowl XVII MVP Doug Williams were also honored.

The Pigskin Club of Washington is celebrating its 71st year in 2009, and the Divas are proud to be the first women recognized by the club for their athletic achievements. Since 2003, the Pigskin Club has annually chosen a female football player of the year for the Washington, DC, area. This is the sixth straight season a Divas player has won the award, with Trigger McNair joining Donna Wilkinson, Allyson Hamlin, Vickie Lucas, Rachelle Pecovsky, Ivy Tillman, Kathryn Hemlock, and Nikki Williams.