2014 Pigskin Club Posey Award

The Pigskin Club of Washington, DC, has announced that they will not be having a sports awards banquet in 2014. No awards will be granted by the Pigskin Club this year, including their annual Posey Award, which goes to the top women’s football players in the national capital region. In lieu of the Posey Award, the D.C. Divas are proud to announce their offensive and defensive MVPs for the 2014 season: Kentrina Wilson and Cherre Marshall.

Wide receiver Kentrina Wilson had a terrific first season in a D.C. Divas uniform. Wilson ranked second in the WFA with 12 receiving touchdowns, one shy of the Divas’ franchise record for receiving touchdowns in a single season. Wilson’s 527 receiving yards ranked her eighth in the WFA, and her 29 catches were the third-highest single-season total in team history.

Linebacker Cherre Marshall has been one of the Divas’ most consistent defensive players over the last seven seasons. Marshall recorded 42.5 tackles in 2014, good for second on the team behind two-time Posey Award winner Trigger McNair. Marshall also had 6.5 tackles for loss and two sacks, ranking among the team leaders in both categories. For her career, Cherre Marshall ranks among the all-time team leaders in tackles, tackles for loss, and sacks.

The Pigskin Club of Washington, DC, plans to resume its awards banquet in 2015.