2015 Pigskin Club Posey Award

Running back Kenyetta Grigsby and linebacker Tia Watkins were announced as the winners of the 2015 Posey Award, sponsored by the Pigskin Club of Washington, DC.

Kenyetta Grigsby, a 12-year veteran of women’s football, had another spectacular season in 2015. She easily led the Women’s Football Alliance (WFA) in rushing attempts with 194 carries on the year, 60 more carries than her nearest competitor. Grigsby finished third in the league in rushing with 1,283 yards and has surpassed 6,000 rushing yards combined over the last five years. Her 2015 season was highlighted by an astonishing performance in the conference championship game against the Chicago Force, when she shattered the franchise record with 324 rushing yards and four touchdowns on 41 carries to help lead the Divas to their third national championship appearance in team history. This is Grigsby’s second Pigskin Award, having been previously honored in 2011; she is the second offensive player to win two Posey Awards, joining Divas quarterback Allyson Hamlin. Kenyetta Grigsby is a resource officer for Osbourn High School in Manassas, VA, assisting the school in police-related matters and mentoring at-risk kids.

Tia Watkins made an immediate impact in her first season with the D.C. Divas after spending her last two years in Baltimore. Watkins, who missed two games in 2015 due to injury, still placed second on the club with 51.5 tackles and was a fearsome force in the middle of the Divas’ defense. She was recognized as the Conference Defensive Player of the Year by the WFA in 2015, and she saved her best performance for last. In the 2015 national championship game, Watkins paced the club with 11.5 tackles, including 2.5 tackles for loss, in the Divas’ 30-26 victory over the Dallas Elite. Tia Watkins is a mother of two and a sales coordinator for Unum in Columbia, MD.

Since 2003, the Pigskin Club has annually awarded the Posey Award to outstanding women’s football players in the Washington, DC, region. The Pigskin Club will have their annual awards ceremony at the Washington Navy Yard Conference Center on February 12, 2016.